Announcing the release of our self-titled EP

sbs album cover front

The Ottawa-based girl band Scary Bear Soundtrack has released their first album, Scary Bear Soundtrack.

Recorded by Ottawa musician Curtis Chaffey, and mastered by Sharif Sourour and Chris Skellzo, the band’s self-titled EP features four tracks including Beaver Pond Forest, a love song for the South March Highlands, a wilderness region in North Kanata currently being developed for construction despite protests from ecologists and Aboriginal leaders. All four songs on the EP were performed by Ottawa female musicians Gloria Guns, Dannik Leduc, Ainslie Lahey, and Maggie Woodley. The album art, featuring scenes from the South March Highlands, were created by artist Toni van Eeden.

The band will be performing the tracks off their EP as well as new songs at their upcoming shows in Toronto (the Gladstone on December 16) and Ottawa (Zaphod’s, January 16), featuring guest musicians Esther Song on keyboards and Kevin Ledlow of HIGHS on drums.  The band will also be releasing their music video for Beaver Pond Forest, shot by filmmaker Toni van Eeden in the South March Highlands itself, at the release party on January 16.

Listen to the album in its entirety on Bandcamp:

Buy the Scary Bear Soundtrack EP on Bandcamp

sbs album cover back

One thought on “Announcing the release of our self-titled EP

  1. […] Releasing our first album, a four track self titled EP […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: